5 Things Moms Don’t Want for Mother’s Day

Ok-let’s be REAL!  We would all love flowers, alone time, appreciation, special attention, togetherness, and of course, some sort of chocolate for Mother’s Day, but let’s talk about what we don’t want for Mother’s Day instead, shall we?

  1. Dishes: I do not want to wash one dish for Mother’s Day. Not. One. Dish.  Let me take that back.  I don’t want to wash, dry, or put away any dishes.  I don’t want to even touch any dishes for any reason.  I feel that I have a constant pile of dishes in my house—either dirty ones sitting in the sink, clean ones in a huge pile ready to be put away, or ones sitting in the dish washer waiting in the darkness for me to finally pay attention to them.  Dishes are in constant waiting for me to notice them and take care of them, and this Mother’s Day, let’s give each other permission to pay no attention to the dishes whatsoever.

 

  1. Laundry: Talk about waiting for me to pay attention to it…the laundry is ALWAYS THERE lurking in every closet waiting for the day that it will finally stop smelling, get noticed, and get thrown in to be washed. Then, it needs dried.  Then, it needs sorted.  Then, it needs folded.  Then, it needs to be put away.  In fact, laundry is needier than my own children, and so moms, let’s not do anything with the laundry tomorrow.  Let’s not even think about it!

 

  1. Cooking: Why oh why do our kids have to eat so many meals and snacks throughout the day? Just as I get one meal cleaned up, it’s time for the next snack.  Just as I get the snack cleaned up, it’s time for the next meal.  It’s endless.  Let’s not cook at all tomorrow.  I’m talking keeping things simple—cereal, sandwiches, cheese and crackers, done!  Let’s allow someone else to cook for us if they want to, but let’s not get out one pot or pan or turn on the stove even once!

 

  1. Fighting: Can’t we all just get along?  Please, kids, please!  I don’t want to break up one argument or referee one disagreement or moderate one misunderstanding.  Nothing.  I just want peace and quiet and laughter and joy and smiles and giggles and fun and compromise and helpfulness and respect and love!  Is that too much to ask for just one day?  Moms, let’s just turn on the TV or get out the tablets and do whatever it takes to just have some peace and quiet around here!

 

  1. Cleaning: My house is never as clean as I would want it to be.  Never.  But I’ve learned to be ok with it because the truth is that with young kids, the house is just going to be a mess most of the time.  And even when I do have the time or energy to clean it up, it just gets messy again in like two seconds!  I say constantly, “Didn’t I just sweep?” or “Wasn’t the house just spotless last night?”  This Mother’s Day, let’s not clean up one speck…not one crumb…not wipe one counter, one table, one floor, one toilet…not one mess.  Let’s just leave it, stare at it, smile at it…

While we take a nap!

Happy Mother’s Day!

Lord, thank you for the gift of motherhood.  We love and appreciate our kids.  We take our responsibility as a mom seriously, but Lord, we need a break.  Fill our kids with contentment.  Give us ways to simplify.  Give us room for rest and bring peace to our homes.  Amen.

2 thoughts on “5 Things Moms Don’t Want for Mother’s Day

  1. “Why oh why do our kids have to eat so many meals and snacks throughout the day?” And, “Can’t we all just get along?” Truth, mama. Questions for the ages. Love. This. xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

